NA wetin?! — Bode George wins African Leadership award ~ OLAJIDE OMOJOLOMOJU December 6, 2012

The All Africa Students Union (AASU) has picked former Deputy National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Chief Olabode George as the winner of its 15th edition of the Africa Leadership award. George’s nomination was based on recommendations by the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) and the ratification by the executive council of AASU.

Disclosing this was the Nigerian representative at AASU and Project Co-ordinator of the award, Olufemi Lawson, who said that George was selected from among the many nominees for the 2012 award based on his commitment to youth development and his defence of democratic institutions. The award would be conferred on him on December 12, during which a distinguished leadership lecture would be delivered. AASU is a regional students organisation, headquartered in Accra, Ghana with over 54 African countries as members.

Past recipients of the ASUU bi-annual Africa Leadership Award included former Secretary General of the United Nations (UN), Kofi Anan, former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Chief Afe Babalola, a former minister from South Africa, and Nobel laureate, late Prof Wangari Maathai among others.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s